January 23, 2024

Congratulations to the many MSM faculty and alumni who are part of 2024 GRAMMY-nominated projects

This year, more than 40 members of the MSM Community are part of GRAMMY-nominated work; five of these nominations are for primary artists.

The prestigious industry awards will be presented on Sunday, February 4.

Discover the nominees below, and see the full list of 2024 GRAMMY Award nominees here.

*denotes primary artist

Jazz Nominees

  • Jean Baylor

    MSM Jazz Arts Faculty (Jazz Voice)

  • Darcy James Argue

    MSM Jazz Arts Faculty (Composition)

Best Jazz Performance

“Vulnerable (Live)”
Song by Adam Blackstone featuring The Baylor Project & Russell Ferranté, from the album Adam Blackstone Presents The Legacy Experience
Jean Baylor*, vocals; MSM Jazz Arts faculty member

Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album

Dynamic Maximum Tension
Album by MSM jazz composition faculty member Darcy James* and the Darcy James Argue Secret Society: Seneca Black (’97), trumpet; Sara Caswell (MM ’06), violin, Hardanger d’amore violin; Mike Fahie (MM ’02), trombone; Jacob Garchik (BM ’98), trombone; Matt Holman (MM ’10, DMA ’18), trumpet; Ingrid Jensen (MSM Dean of Jazz Arts), trumpet; Ryan Keberle (BM ’01), trombone, MSM Jazz Arts faculty; Nadje Noordhuis (MM ’05), trumpet.

The Charles Mingus Centennial Sessions
Album by the Mingus Big Band, featuring Dr. Alexander Pope Norris (MM ’94), trumpet; Brandon Wright (MM ’15), alto saxophone; Lauren Sevian (BM ’01), baritone saxophone.


  • Miguel Zenón (MM '01), alto saxophone

  • Luís Perdomo (BM '97), piano

Best Latin Jazz Album

El Arte Del Bolero Vol. 2
MSM alumnus Miguel Zenón* (MM ’01), alto saxophone, MSM Jazz Arts composition faculty; Luís Perdomo* (BM ’97), piano.

  • Jason Lippmann (BM '98, MM '00), cello

  • Bing Wang (MM '91, HonDMA '23), violin

  • Scott Pingel (MM '99, PS '00), double bass

  • Daniel Matsukawa (PC '84), bassoon

Classical Music Nominees

Best Orchestral Performance

Thomas Adès: Dante
Los Angeles Philharmonic, featuring MSM Alumni: Jason Lippmann (BM ’98, MM ’00), cello; Elise Shope Henry (MM ’11), flute; Akiko Tarumoto (PC ’86), violin I; Bing Wang (MM ’91, HonDMA ’23), associate concertmaster: violin I

Florence Price: Symphony No. 4; William Dawson: Negro Folk Symphony
The Philadelphia Orchestra, featuring MSM Alumna Daniel Matsukawa (PC ’84), principal bassoon.

Igor Stravinsky, The Rite of Spring
The San Francisco Symphony, featuring MSM Alumni Blair Francis Paponiu (PS ’15), associate principal flute; Scott Pingel (MM ’99, PS ’00), principal double bass.

Best Opera Recording

Award to the Conductor, Album Producer(s) and Principal Soloists, and to the Composer and Librettist (if applicable) of a world premiere Opera recording only

Terence Blanchard* (Hon DMA ’17, MSM trustee), composer
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Conductor; Ryan Speedo Green, Latonia Moore & Eric Owens; David Frost, producer; The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra (17 faculty members and 22 alumni); The Metropolitan Opera Chorus (17 alumni)

The Lord of Cries
MSM alumni John Corigliano (’63, HonDMA ’92), composer; Anthony Roth Costanzo (MM ’08, HonDMA ’22), principal soloist.

Black Lodge
MSM alumni Andrew McKenna Lee (MM ’00), producer

Best Choral Performance

György Ligeti’s Lux Aeterna
The San Fransisco Symphony Chorus, featuring MSM alumni Cheryl Cain (MM ’00), soprano; Elliott JG Encarnación (BM ’10), tenor; Leandra Ramm (PC ’01, ’05), alto.

Sergei Rachmaninoff’s All-Night Vigil
The Clarion Choir, featuring MSM alumni Marc Day (MM ’11), tenor; Timothy Parsons (BM ’12, MM ’14), countertenor.

  • Terence Blanchard (Hon DMA ’17), MSM trustee

  • John Corigliano ('63, HonDMA '92), composer

  • Cheryl Cain (MM '00), soprano

  • Elliott JG Encarnación (BM '10), tenor

Best Classical Compendium

Passion for Bach and Coltrane
Harlem Quartet* featuring MSM alumni Ilmar Gavilán (MM ’01, PS ’02), MSM violin faculty; Imani Winds*: Mark Dover* (MM ’12), producer, clarinet;  Monica Ellis (PS ’98), bassoon; Brandon Patrick George (MM ’10), flute; Kevin Newton (MM ’20), French horn; Toyin Spellman-Diaz (MM ’97, PS ’98), oboe.

MSM alumna Andy Akiho (MM ’09), composer and producer, performed by the Omaha Symphony

Best R&B Song

On My Mama by Kyla Moscovich*
MSM alumna Kyla Moscovich* (BM ’14), trumpet and flugelhorn, co-songwriter

  • Kyla Moscovich (BM '14), trumpet and flugelhorn, songwriter

  • Mark Dover (MM '12), clarinet

  • Monica Ellis (PS '98), bassoon, MSM bassoon faculty

  • Ilmar Gavilán (MM '01, PS '02) MSM violin faculty

Best Contemporary Classical Composition

In That Space, At That Time
Andy Akiho (MM ’09), composer

Andy Akiho (MM ’09)

Congratulations to our talented MSM Community! (And stay tuned for our announcement of 2024 GRAMMY Winners…)

    Email This Page

    Email Message

    Page Reference
    (will be sent in email)