February 6, 2023

Congratulations to MSM alumni and faculty for their 2023 GRAMMY award-winning work!

Congratulations to the many MSM faculty and alumni who are part of 2023 GRAMMY-winning projects. The prestigious industry awards were presented on Sunday, February 5.

Discover the winners below, and see the full list of 2023 GRAMMY Award nominees and winners here!

Jazz Award Winners

Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album

Generation Gap Jazz Orchestra
Album by MSM alumnus Steven Feifke (MM ’18) as composer, arranger, & pianist, and Bijon Watson, with Lauren Sevian (BM ’01), baritone saxophone, and Tanya Darby (BM ‘98), trumpet.

Best Jazz Instrumental Album

New Standards Vol. 1
MSM alumna Linda May Han Oh (MM ’08), jazz bass

Best Latin Jazz Ensemble Album

Fandango at the Wall in New York
Arturo O’Farrill and the Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra featuring the Congo Patria son Jarocho Collective

Arturo O’Farrill (PC ’75) as composer, director/conductor, arranger, piano and keyboard, with: Rafi Malkiel (MM ’00), trombone 1; Frank Cohen (BM ’11, MM ’13), trombone 2; Ernesto Villalobos (MM ’02), violin and vocals; Gabriel Chakarji (MM ’22), piano; and Sharon Moe (MM ’66), French horn 

  • Linda May Han Oh (MM '08)

  • Arturo O'Farrill (PC ’75)

Best Musical Theater Album

Into The Woods (2022 Broadway Cast Recording)

The production and recording featured MSM alumni:

MSM alumni Alysia Velez (BM ’22) as Rapunzel; Cameron Johnson (MM ’14), understudy; Nuno Antunes (MM ’05), clarinet; David Blinn (BM ‘91,’93), viola; Lisa Stokes-Chin (BM ’96), bass; and John Bell (PC ‘91), associate music director 

Classical Music Winners

Best Opera Recording

Blanchard: Fire Shut Up in My Bones

Terence Blanchard* (Hon DMA ’17, MSM trustee) composer; Briana E. Hunter (MM ’12), Ruby/sinner; Jasmine Muhammad (MM ’12), cast; Nicole Joy Mitchell (MM ’04), cast; Steven White (MM ’17), percussion; Raymond Riccomini (MM ’93), trumpet; Bradley Aikman (MM ’01, PS ’03), double bass; Ruth Bennett (PD ’05), harp substitute; Daniel Krekeler (MM ’04), double bass; Dean LeBlanc (MM ’96), clarinet; Julia Ahyoung Choi (PS ’17), violin; MSM Faculty Shmuel Katz (BM ’98, MM ’00), viola ; Brendan Kane (’07), double bass; Kenneth Floyd (MM ’99), bass voice; Juhwan Lee (MM ’03), tenor voice; and Rosalie G. Sullivan (MM ’02), alto voice

  • Terence Blanchard (Hon DMA ’17), MSM trustee

  • Briana E. Hunter (MM ’12)

Congratulations to our talented MSM Community!

    Email This Page

    Email Message

    Page Reference
    (will be sent in email)