March 7, 2023

Meet the 2022–2023 winners of MSM’s Eisenberg-Fried Concerto Competition

The Eisenberg-Fried Concerto Competition is held each February at MSM, hosted by the chairs of the Strings, Piano, Woodwinds, Brass, and Voice departments at MSM, with a winner chosen from each category.

The winners perform with one of MSM’s ensembles in the following academic year.

Pictured above: 2021–2022 Eisenberg-Fried Competition Guitar Winner Eduardo Gutterres (MM ’23) performing as a featured guitarist with the MSM Symphony Orchestra conducted by George Manahan (BM ’73, MM ’76) on September 30, 2022.

2021–2022 Eisenberg-Fried Competition Woodwinds winner Marcos Ruiz (BM '23), flute

2022–2023 Eisenberg-Fried Competition Winners


Sonya Shin (BM ’23), violin
Shostakovich, Concerto No.1
Student of Nicholas Mann and Mark Steinberg

Corinne Au (MM ’24), violin
Prokofiev, Violin Concerto No.2
Student of Lucie Robert


Arthur Li (MM ’23), piano
Schnittke, Concerto for Piano and Strings
Student of Alexandre Moutouzkine

Po-Wei Ger (First Year DMA Candidate), piano
Ravel, Concerto in G Major
Student of Solomon Mikowsky


Jaehyuk Lee (MM ’23), saxophone
Jacques Ibert, Concertino da camera
Student of Paul Cohen

Lorien Britt (BM ’26), flute
Theodoor Verhey, Concerto in D Minor, Op. 43
Student of Linda Chesis


Ken Kagawa (BM ’25), trombone
Henri Tomasi, Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra
Student of Colin Williams

Ed Dealecio
(MM ’24), trombone
Henri Tomasi, Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra
Student of Per Brevig


James Harris (MM ’23), baritone
Ralph Vaughan Williams, Five Mystical Songs
Yue Qi Zhang (PPD ’23), Collaborative Pianist
Student of Sidney Outlaw

Scott La Marca (MM ’24), tenor
Joaquín Turina, Poema en forma de canciones, Op.19
Kanae Matsumoto (PS ’14), Collaborative Pianist
Student of Marlena Malas

2022 Eisenberg-Fried Competition Strings Winner Jaeook Lee (PS '21, DMA Candidate), violin


Featuring a 2021–22 Eisenberg-Fried Competition Winner:

MAR 24 | FRI
7:30 PM

MSM Camerata Nova

George Manahan (BM ’73, MM ’76), Conductor
Shan Hai (BM ’20, MM ’22, PS ’23), soprano

Shan Hai is the winner of the 2021–22 Eisenberg-Fried Competition in classical voice.


Dai Wei, W.A. Mozart, Olivier Messiaen, and Igor Stravinsky 

Tickets Required — More information coming soon! 

Ades Performance Space
130 Claremont Ave
New York, NY 10027


    Email This Page

    Email Message

    Page Reference
    (will be sent in email)