February 23, 2024

Announcing the 2024 winners of MSM’s Eisenberg-Fried Concerto Competition

The Eisenberg-Fried Concerto Competition is held each February at MSM, hosted by the chairs of the Strings, Piano, Percussion, Woodwinds, Brass, and Voice departments at MSM, with a winner chosen from each category.

The winners will perform with one of MSM’s ensembles as part of MSM’s 2024–2025 performance season.

Pictured above: 2023 Eisenberg-Fried Competition Strings winner Sonya Shin (MM ’25), violin, performing as a featured soloist with the MSM Symphony Orchestra conducted by George Manahan (BM ’73, MM ’76) on February 2, 2024.

2023 Eisenberg-Fried Competition Strings winner Sonya Shin (MM '25), violin

2024 Eisenberg-Fried Competition Winners


William Lee (PPD ’25), violin
Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 25 by Pytor Il’yich Tchaikovsky
Student of Nicholas Mann & Koichiro Harada

Maïthéna Girault (BM ’20, MM ’22, PPD ’24), violin
Violin Concerto, Op. 80 by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor
Student of Lucie Robert


Po-Wei Ger (BM ’18, DMA ’26), piano
Concerto for the Left Hand by Maurice Ravel
Student of Solomon Mikowsky

Alberto Barba (MM ’24), piano
Tajogaite by Gustavo Díaz-Jeréz
Student of the late Solomon Mikowsky


Jonah Murphy (MM ’24), flute
Flute Concerto by Jacques Ibert
Student of Michael Parloff

David Baker (DMA ’26), alto saxophone
Saxophone Concerto, Op. 14 by Lars-Erik Larsson
Student of Paul Cohen


Donghoon Kang (PPD ’25), bass baritone
Quatre chansons de Don Quichotte by Jacques Ibert
Student of Mark Schnaible

Benjamin Sokol (BM ’22, MM ’24), bass baritone
Vier ernste Gesänge by Johannes Brahms
Student of James Morris


Glenn Choe (BM ’26), marimba
Concerto for Marimba and Strings by Emmanuel Séjourné
Student of Christopher Lamb


2023 Eisenberg-Fried Competition Voice winner James Harris (MM '23), baritone

    Email This Page

    Email Message

    Page Reference
    (will be sent in email)