February 5, 2024

Congratulations to those members of the MSM Community who are part of 2024 Grammy Award-winning projects!

Congratulations to those members of the MSM Community who are part of Grammy-winning work, among them Miguel Zenón (MM ’01); MSM faculty and alumni in Harlem Quartet and Imani Winds; faculty and alumni in the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, and the Metropolitan Opera Chorus; and MSM trustee Terence Blanchard (HonDMA ’17).

The prestigious industry awards were presented on Sunday, February 4.

Discover MSM Community winners below, and link to a full list of this year’s MSM nominees here. See the full list of 2024 GRAMMY Award nominees and winners here.


Best Latin Jazz Album

For vocal or instrumental albums containing greater than 75% playing time of newly recorded material. The intent of this category is to recognize recordings that represent the blending of jazz with Latin, Iberian-American, Brazilian, and Argentinian tango music.

El Arte Del Bolero Vol. 2
MSM alumnus Miguel Zenón (MM ’01), alto saxophone; Luís Perdomo (BM ’97), piano.

  • Miguel Zenón (MM '01), alto saxophone

  • Luís Perdomo (BM '97), piano


Best Opera Recording

Award to the Conductor, Album Producer(s) and Principal Soloists, and to the Composer and Librettist (if applicable) of a world premiere Opera recording only.

Terence Blanchard (Hon DMA ’17, MSM trustee), composer
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Conductor; Ryan Speedo Green, Latonia Moore & Eric Owens; David Frost, producer; The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra (17 faculty members and 22 alumni); The Metropolitan Opera Chorus (17 alumni)

  • Terence Blanchard (Hon DMA ’17), MSM trustee


Best Classical Compendium

Award to the Artist(s) and to the Album Producer(s) and Engineer(s) of over 50% playing time of the album, and to the Composer and Librettist (if applicable) with over 50% playing time of a world premiere recording only.

Passion for Bach and Coltrane
Awarded to: Alex Brown, Harlem Quartet, Imani Winds, Edward Perez, Neal Smith & A.B. Spellman;
Silas Brown & Mark Dover, producers
Harlem Quartet features MSM alumni Ilmar Gavilán (MM ’01, PS ’02, MSM faculty), violin; Imani Winds features Mark Dover (MM ’12), producer, clarinet;  Monica Ellis (PS ’98, MSM faculty), bassoon; Brandon Patrick George (MM ’10), flute; Kevin Newton (MM ’20, MSM Precollege faculty), horn; Toyin Spellman-Diaz (MM ’97, PS ’98), oboe.

  • Mark Dover (MM '12), clarinet, producer

  • Monica Ellis (PS '98), bassoon, MSM faculty

  • Ilmar Gavilán (MM '01, PS '02), MSM faculty


Best Orchestral Performance

Award to the Conductor and to the Orchestra.

Thomas Adès: Dante
Los Angeles Philharmonic features MSM alumni Jason Lippmann (BM ’98, MM ’00), cello; Elise Shope Henry (MM ’11), flute; Akiko Tarumoto (PC ’86), violin I; Bing Wang (MM ’91, HonDMA ’23), associate concertmaster: violin I

  • Jason Lippmann (BM ’98, MM ’00), cello

  • Elise Shope Henry (MM ’11), flute;

  • Akiko Tarumoto (PC ’86), violin I

  • Bing Wang (MM ’91, HonDMA ’23), associate concertmaster: violin I


Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance

For new recordings of works with chamber or small ensemble (twenty-four or fewer members, not including the conductor). One Award to the ensemble and one Award to the conductor, if applicable.

Rough Magic 
Roomful Of Teeth, members of this vocal band, formed in 2009 to “mine the expressive potential of the human voice” are: Executive Director MSM alumna Amanda Crider (MM ’01), singers Cameron Beauchamp, Dashon Burton, Martha Cluver, Eric Dudley, Estelí Gomez, Avery Griffin, Caroline Shaw, MSM alumna Virginia Warnken Kelsey (BM ’08), Brad Wells.

  • Amanda Crider (MM '01)

  • Virginia Warnken Kelsey

Congratulations to our talented MSM Community, and to all those who were nominated!

    Email This Page

    Email Message

    Page Reference
    (will be sent in email)